Combining multiple IF statements

Sabin800
Sabin800
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

Hi,

I'm new to smartsheets and trying to become more efficient at writing formulas. I've written four if statements that perform certain tasks based on the criteria. I'd like it to all be one statement that I can put into one of my cells, however I can't quite seem to figure it out. I've read other users posts and some of the Smartsheets documents but I'm still unable to get it working. Here are my four statements:

### If the end date is less that today's date, and the column 'Completed' is full,

### then change the RYG Ball to 'Green'. Otherwise, turn it 'red'.

=IF(AND([End Date]3 < TODAY(), [Completed]3 = "Full"), "Green", "Red")

### if End Date is less than today and Completed is not full then make it red

=IF(AND([End Date]3 < TODAY(), [Completed]3 = "Empty"), "Red", "Green")

### if End Date is greater than today make it green

=IF(AND([End Date]3 > TODAY()), "Green", "Red")

### if End Date is 2 days before today and Completed is not full then make it yellow

=IF(AND([End Date]3 < TODAY() - 2, [Completed]3 = "Empty"), "Yellow", "Green")

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

An IF statement is built in the order of =IF(Logical Statement is true, then enter this, otherwise enter this)

To nest them, you would put the next IF statement in the otherwise part of the first and close them both out at the same time at the end of the second one.

=IF(Statement 1, "Answer One", IF(Statement 1, Answer Two"))

• Thanks for the reply, I've continued to test multiple statements to get it working. So far, I keep getting "Unparseable" when I use this statement:

=IF(AND([End Date]3 < TODAY(), [Completed]3 = "Full", "Green", IF(AND([End Date]3 < TODAY(), [Completed]3 = "Empty", "Red"), IF(AND([End Date]3 > TODAY(), "Green", IF(AND([End Date]3 < TODAY() - 2, [Completed]3 = "Empty", "Yellow", "Green") "Red") "Green") "Red"))))