New UX, 2 thumbs down

jb@59069
jb@59069 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

I've been using this new UX since Friday, with quite a few hours over the weekend, due to trying to get ahead of the curve so we can take a few days off for Christmas next week. I use a Dell Latitude E6540, 16GB RAM, 1TB HD, Win 7 Pro x64, dual 24" monitors. I have been using business software and CAD/CAM suites since 1986, way back in the DOS days.

I have to say, this is one of the worst changes I've ever experienced to a software package.

Before this "update", I was already having 2-3 browsers open with 3-10 tabs open in each. Now I have to have another browser open, dedicated only to Smartsheet, with 3-10 tabs open at one time. That's not even counting Outlook, Excel, Adobe Acrobat, which I use constantly all day long. Opening Word and/or PowerPoint and the situation goes downhill rapidly. I'm sure those who use Windows know that it is not the most efficient OS, especially when releasing memory back to the system when an app is closed. This results in the necessity to reboot on a regular basis. On a slow streak, I can go 2 days without rebooting.

With Smartsheet's new UX, the need to reboot has grown to multiple times EVERY DAY! Out of memory messages are popping up like rabbits birthing.

Add to this the additional frustration of having to click more often to do what used to take 1 click, and this "update" is garbage.

While I had some serious frustration with Smartsheet and the years of "I've logged your vote", yet nothing being done for 2, 3, 4 or more years on REAL, FUNCTIONAL user requests, this new UX has me questioning if maybe Smartsheet developers are spending too much time in Colorado, on the pipe or in the edibles.

I also 'attended' the new UX webinar this morning, hoping for some information that I had not already stumbled on over the weekend.