Search, If & Input

mwiggins
mwiggins ✭✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I've been having some difficulty trying to solve this one:

• I have a master sheet where forms are inputted
  • For each row there are two columns I need to set up in an IF for, and one where I need a value inputted from another sheet
  • I imagine it like this: IF column 1@row = {other sheet} …This reference should search an entire column - this is where I am getting INCORRECT ARGUMENT. The point is that if column1@row is equal to the same value in any row fromt his other sheet in a specific column, Then
  • IF [Created]@row is between two dates from the same {other sheet} ... I know how to do this one, Then
  • INPUT the value in column in {other sheet}.

I'm not sure the combination of VLOOKUP / INDEX / IF(AND / etc functions I need to do.

The purpose behind this is really just a search query. If this name is also found in {other sheet} and the date is inbetween two dates from {other sheet} then take this third value from {other sheet} and input it.

Comments

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Try using the JOIN function to pull the column from the other sheet into a text string with some sort of delimiter then using a FIND function to search for the name in that text string.

=IF(FIND([Column1]@row, JOIN({Name Column In Other Sheet}, ", ")) > 0, do this.............

• mwiggins
    mwiggins ✭✭✭✭

The above formula works! I know I said I could do the date functions but as it turns out - I can't get them to work. I have a feeling it may be the order of operations but not sure if that matters in this case.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

You would use an AND function.

=IF(AND(FIND(..............................) > 0, DATEONLY(Created@row) >= {First Date Reference}, DATEONLY(Created@row) <= {Second Date Reference}), then do this.....)