WBS numbering and work arounds

kristyf
kristyf
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

Good afternoon Smartsheeters ;)

I am only new to Smartsheet and have started working on some existing docs.

We have a very clunky and manual way of applying a designated PRIORITY number.  When the sheet for each project/group of projects is first started, its easy - everything is labelled from 1,2,3,4,etc til the last row.  Then Rows are deleted or new rows added so depending on where it sits from a PRIORITY perspective, we might add it 2 and therefore create 2.1, 2.2 etc as we DONT want to renumber all the others rows.

Once a Row is given a priority number (which is determined externally and then applied to that row/item) then that row/item must keep that number for that project.  

This process limits our ability to use 'sort' and a few other functions.  I have had a look at peoples suggestions re WBS coding (parent/child) but that doesnt seem to work for what we need.  

Also - we are not currently using Parent/Child relationships because of the issues with our need to run a Priority number.  Open to ideas on how to change things so as to get the best out of Smartsheet and ease of use

Any thoughts?

TIA

Kristy

Smartsheet q1.png

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Kristy,

Welcome to Smartsheet and the Community.

What determines the order of the rows? Are they being moved around in the sheet?

Have a fantastic weekend!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant @ Get Done Consulting

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• hey Andree

I just realised i hadnt responded to this.  The priority number is effectively the priority of installation of the asset.  So item 1 is installed first, item 2 second etc.