IF statement referencing another sheet

Sldollman
Sldollman ✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

I'm new to Smartsheet and I'm trying to use an IF statement to pull data from another sheet based on "true" criteria.  

I want to look up a reference in a sheet based on an application name, and if it is true, I want to return the site # based (on the same reference sheet, different range), otherwise it returns "None".  I have done this successfully in Excel many times, but I cannot get it to work in Smartsheet (#Invalid Operation).

I've tried it using 2 separate reference ranges (as shown below--I'm using specific columns within the reference sheet here), as well as a broader range using column #s). 

What am I doing wrong? 

SmartSheet:

=IF({Reference Range 1-SystemType} = "AppName", {Reference Range 2-SiteName},"NONE")

Excel: 

=IF(Table_1[SystemType]="AppName",Table_1[SiteName],"NONE")

Comments

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭

You  don't use IF for this situation in Smartsheet. 

Instead use INDEX and MATCH

https://help.smartsheet.com/function/index

https://help.smartsheet.com/function/match

The VLOOKUP function can also be used, but there are many disadvantages to it over INDEX(..., MATCH())

Your formula will likely look something like this:

=IFERROR(INDEX({Reference Range 2-SiteName},MATCH("AppName", {Reference Range 1-SystemType},0)),"NONE")

general form:

=IFERROR(INDEX({range with value to find}, MATCH(search-term, {range to search}, 0)), return-when-search-term-not-found)

Craig

• Sldollman
    Sldollman ✭✭✭

Thanks, Craig.  That got me much closer.  However, It's returning the same value for every row when I copy the formula to the next row (it's returning the same value of the first site in the list).  What do I do to get it to move down the list? 

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Is your search-term changing?