Need Help - Can't Wrap my Head Around SS Logic

I'm trying to build a metrics table that can be used to generate a graph on a dashboard.

I am a consultant and would like to track client hours from a master sheet that logs all clients, dates of services, and total hours.

Let's say I wanted to track the hours of utilization from a particular client from YTD, Last Month, Last Week, Weekly Average over the year, etc.

So if the Client Column is Client X, Add the hours in the hours column over the last month, week, year, etc.

I don't know why I'm struggling so much with this, but I can't seem to get it to work out right. Please help!

Comments

• Hello!

Have you tried using the VLOOKUP formula?

https://help.smartsheet.com/function/vlookup

• DLABS Consulting
    edited 10/11/18

Just tried that out for this purpose and it doesn't return the value that I need. I will say that this will help me on some other sheets I'm working on, so thanks for that!

Here is a rough example of the sheet, keep in mind there are several additional columns in the sheet that are not relevant to this question.

What I'm trying to collect is, How many total hours were used by a particular client last month, this month, last week, this week, etc.

Example SS Table.PNG

• David.O
    David.O ✭✭✭

Based on what I'm seeing in your sheet, this is the formula that I would use:

=sum(collect(Hours1:Hours6, [Client Name]1:[Client Name]6, @cell="Client 1", [Created Date]1:[Created Date]6, year(@cell)=year(today())))

This will give you the total hours recorded for Client 1 YTD. For last month's numbers, make the last criterion {month(@cell)=month(today())-1}. For last week it would be {weeknumber(@cell)=weeknumber(today())-1}.

For the client name, instead of putting the client name in the formula, you can point that at a cell that has the client that you are looking for.

Hope this helps. :)

• I think this is it, thanks!