Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Please Help

kcain
kcain
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

Hi, Smartsheet friends.  I am new to Smartsheet and am still trying to find my way around.  Is it possible to calculate a formula on one sheet that references data on a separate sheet, like you can in Excel?

I have a master sheet that includes all my data.  I tried to summarize the data using various calculations at the bottom of the sheet, but some of the numeric formulas are not working because they are located in date columns.  There are a lot of date columns in the master sheet, so it isn't feasible to move the calculation to a different column.

Can someone please give me advice on how to resolve this issue?  Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭

For the first question - can a formula reference another sheet?

Not yet.

They are working on it.

In the meantime, if you can link the data cells and pull them to one sheet, that is the best option.

For the second question, putting calculations in Date columns:

Use + "" 

For example, this formula

=COUNTIF(CHILDREN(), DATE(2016, 12, 4)) + ""

would count the number of children with the date of 2016-12-04.

Watch out of ciruclar references wehn builiding formulas that reference their own columns.

Hope this helps

Craig

• Richard Rymill SBP
    Richard Rymill SBP ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Well said Craig

to expand on the design, you need to do all your calculations in the sheet you are in, then cell link the results to your master sheet. 

hope that helps

RichardR

• Craig,