Formula to check Child Row checkbox if Parent row contains "ABC Dept" (filtering by Department)

ON
ON ✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I have a "Master" project resource sheet with great grandparent rows for "Current Projects" and "Future Projects", Then grandparent rows for each "Project", parent rows for department and child rows for the individual resources per department. 

I'm trying to create a filter to filter resources by department across all projects. I can manually create a filter that has all resources from a department checked within the filter, but I have to maintain that list! Instead I would like to use a formula in check box column to check automatically if criteria are met and filter based on checked/unchecked status. I will have one column and one filter for each department (5 total) The columns span all projects. I will keep the "include parent rows" option checked in the filter to keep the sheet structure. The check box needs to be ticked if the child row's parent is "department_name" which is in the primary column

I'm struggling to compile the formula to check the box if the parent (department) row is "PM" for example. I don't want there to be any Dedicated cells involved so it can be applied generally to an entire column.

Have been using checkboxes and formula's for a while to generate conditions for conditional formatting and part of me thinks this formula should be simple enough!

Screenshot 2019-06-29 at 12.51.25.png

Screenshot 2019-06-29 at 12.53.57.png

Screenshot 2019-06-29 at 12.57.09.png

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi,

Try something like this.

=IF(COUNTIF(UPPER(Resource@row); FIND(PARENT(Status@row); @cell) > 0); 1)

The same version but with the below changes for your and others convenience.

=IF(COUNTIF(UPPER(Resource@row), FIND(PARENT(Status@row), @cell) > 0), 1)

Depending on your country you’ll need to exchange the comma to a period and the semi-colon to a comma.

Did it work?