Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Count Unique Values

Zac
Zac
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

I have a master sheet that is essentially a list of all the schedules we currently have dealing with projects. Each project has its own project number. All i am trying to do is get a number of the projects we have scheduled to compare to the actual number of projects we have in our queue.

Now for the tricky part. Some projects are very large so the schedule was broken up into multiple sheets which equals multiple line items on my master sheet. Is there some type of COUNT formula that will only count the unique values in my project number field?

Ex: Lets say i have 10 projects in my queue and i'd like to know how many of those projects have schedules. The list currently shows 8 schedules, however, that doesn't mean 8/10 projects have schedules. One project could have been large and had two schedules so I need a formula that will count my rows but know to only count a given project number once and not multiple times...

Any help or ideas would be great! Thanks.

Comments

• Jamison
    Jamison ✭✭✭✭✭

Will (can) the like numbers be grouped? If grouped, you could run another column and and put this in there: 

=IF(project_number1 = project_number2, 0, 1)

This compares row 2 value to row 1 value and if they match, it returns 0, if they are different it returns 1. Drag that formula down and it will automatically change to reflect the next set of rows.

Then all you need to do is sum that column and you'll have you number of unique projects. 

• Greg Gates
    Greg Gates ✭✭✭✭✭