Document Control Using Smartsheets

Matthew Seo
Matthew Seo ✭✭
edited 09/12/23 in Show & Tell

@Chris Mondeau thank you for your help in my original post.

I thought I would re-post here for everyone else within the industry could share.

Hi Team,

I work in the construction industry as a joiner and as part my day to day, I received architectural plans.

Is there a way to set up a Smartsheet as a Document Control "Centre"? Like virtual filing cabinet.

For example, a receive one drawing titled "BR2ADA100001[D]", next week I might get an update of that drawing BR2ADA100001[E]. Is there way to upload Rev. E and by using the Document number (BR2ADA100001) and Smartsheets will automatically supersede Rev. D?

It would be awesome if I could filter "Current Drawings" where I know that I'm not looking at a old revision or even share these Current Drawings to subcontractors with a Document Transmittal. I've previously used Procore at a fit-out company but since moving to a joiner, I've been introduced to Smartsheets and would like to get the most out of it.

Any information would be amazing.

Regards,

Matt

Tags:

Comments

• Hi Matt,

Have you taken a look at the Construction Documentation Tracker template in the Solution Center? And have you explored the Attachment and Proofing functionality? Both allow for versioning control.

Does anyone in this group want to share insight into how you manage documents in Smartsheet?

Stephanie Viers, Lead Customer Success Manager - Construction

• Laura Bell
    Laura Bell ✭✭✭✭✭

What is the attachment and proofing functionality?

• @Laura Bell Great question!

Attachments let you store files from your computer or several cloud drive options (like BOX, Google Drive, etc...). You can add comments, new versions, tag people, etc...