Need ideas for best type of sheet for keeping track of accreditations

I have been tasked with creating a system to keep track of all awards, recognitions, accreditations and designations for a large hospital system with 14 hospitals and two primary affiliates.

The system was created two years ago when two hospital systems merged; both systems had experienced their own individual mergers over the past five years, so there is still quite a lot of diversity in the way hospitals gather and share such information.

My goal is to create one unified space where a variety of departments and personnel from a dozen facilities can provide current information on hundreds of types of information.

I'm new to sheets (and never used Excel in my previous life), and have never done any sort of analytics or data tracing (I'm an English major and a writer) -- so I need some guidance on how to set this up. I'd like to start well so I don't inadvertently create more confusion.

I will need at least four categories:

Awards

Designations

Accreditations

Recognitions

Each of those categories has at least a dozen types of information. In designations, for example, individual hospitals may receive formal designations as a Baby-Friendly Hospital, a Breast Center of Excellence, a Magnet or Pathway to Excellence Hospital, etc. Also, each designation has its own time frame, and each hospital may be working at a different pace, so such designations would expire at different times.

I want this to be a clearinghouse for anyone who has to write a report, a press release, an internal communication, etc. They should be able to look at this sheet and find the superlative they're looking for, see an official, evergreen description of that superlative, see which hospitals are where in their process for this award or designation, and know when those designations etc. expire so as not to include them automatically.

I crave your thoughts on the best template to use for this.