Automation/Updating

Hi all,

Hoping to get some suggestions on something I'm stuck with.

I have a master sheet that I replace all the contents once a week (via a mass copy and paste). I have a group that needs to add data to one of the columns, however I'm trying to find a way of avoiding them from having any type of write access to the master sheet. In an ideal world, I was hoping to be able to create a report for them with a column they column they can update without feeding back to the master, since each week I replace everything with new data that comes from an external report. I would then tie the two sheets externally. I know it sounds sort of messy, but hope it makes sense somehow.

Thanks,

Carlos

Answers

• First question are they updating the data in the column after you replace all the contents or before?

You have a couple of ways to get this done and may be able to automate your mass copy and paste if you have the right apps. I have a similar situation that I have our schedule that changes (hourly sometimes) within all our production sites. I use Data Uploader to update off of a CSV file that updates every 12 hours to bring in the schedule and overwrite anything that is no longer on the sheet and update any items that the date, time or location has changed. Once this is updated I have 3 other groups that update information that determines other information that is needed. This is where I have a Rollup sheet that combines the new information from the other teams. This rollup sheet uses Index(Match) formulas and Data Mesh app. I then have a report for each location that allows them to see the updated columns they need plus has a column they can update the information they need to add in. Lock the columns in the rollup sheet to anything that is automated or formula driven so that they can not change the column in the Report created.

I hope this has helped but am open to answering any specific questions you may have.

• Carlos Yanes