Automation changes?

I had an automation setup to copy a row from one sheet to another that has suddenly stopped working. The trigger sheet lives in a different workspace from the destination sheet but that has always been the case. I am an admin on both workspaces.

When I attempt to fix (or even create a new) the trigger, the list of available sheets to send the copied row to are only those within the same workspace.

Did something change about automations that no longer allows automation between sheets in different workspaces? (it was working for several months)

😓

Is there something else I could be missing?

Thanks!

Best Answer

Answers

• Antonio Figueroa
    Antonio Figueroa ✭✭✭✭✭✭

It is working on my end. You might have accidentally unsubscribed to that workspace and or sheet.

Also check to see if the owner of the workspace did not remove you from the shared list. This can Prevent you from accessing a workspace.

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

Hi @Jennifer Kaupke

I agree with @Antonio Figueroa, it sounds like you may have been un-shared to a number of sheets, or the owner of the original sheet has been removed from the destination sheet. You can only create Copy or Move row workflows between sheets where you and the owner are shared to both sheets. (See the Note in this article: Automatically Move or Copy Rows Between Sheets)

• Jennifer Kaupke
    Jennifer Kaupke ✭✭✭✭

hmmmm.... I am the owner of one workspace & sheet (receiving) and I am the admin of the other workspace & sheet (sending) so I don't believe that is the problem. I ended up just making a copy of the sheet and archiving the old version. Solved the problem but still stumped as to why that happened in the first place. Thanks all!

• Genevieve P.
    Answer ✓

Hi @Jennifer Kaupke

Could it have been that the owner of the sheet (sending) where you're an Admin was removed from the workspace or sheet that was receiving the rows?

In any case, glad you were able to sort it out!