Is it better to have projects in their own workspaces or folders?

Hello! I'm seeking advice from experienced users. We will have a master sheet with key information from all of our projects stored for tracking/reporting. However, for all the projects (and considering that we will have active and closed projects), is it better to create a separate workspace for each project or folder?

Thank you!

Best Answer

• Richard Heath
    Richard Heath ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @Teresa Suranyi .

We run many projects, each residing within their own Workspace. A team of people then only have access to those Workspaces that we grant them. As an administrator, I have access to all Workspaces, which can be cumbersome.

If you have a Master Sheet that sits outside of all your Project Workspaces, consider how it will perform when Workspaces are Backed-up / Deleted. You may have to manually link reports/sheets to your Master as new Workspaces are created.

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @Teresa Suranyi

I hope you're well and safe!

It depends.

• How many projects?
    • Who should have access?
    • What is included with each project?

Can you describe your process in more detail and maybe share the sheet(s)/copies of the sheet(s) or some screenshots? (Delete/replace any confidential/sensitive information before sharing) That would make it easier to help. (share too, andree@workbold.com)

I hope that helps!

Be safe and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please help the Community by marking it as the accepted answer/helpful. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Teresa Suranyi