How to return results between a certain date range

Hi I am trying to find a formula

I have a master sheet that I would like the total days of holidays of employes for each month to show on a separate sheet.

eg May total 5 days

Any Suggestions welcome thaks

Best Answer

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

I would suggest a SUMIFS.

=SUMIFS({Data Sheet Days Taken Column}, {Data Sheet Date Column}, AND(IFERROR(MONTH(@cell), 0) = 5, IFERROR(YEAR(@cell), 0) = 2021)

Now this only accounts for using a single date column (start OR end date). How would you count if someone's holiday overlapped into a different month? Would it be two entries (one for each month), or would it be a single entry?

Answers

• Jen Lange
    Jen Lange ✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @Craig Beattie. Based on the image shared above, you want to count the number of holidays (aka "Days Taken") by employee from this sheet into another sheet. Correct?

If so, does your separate sheet include the employees name and month columns? Please advise. A COUNTIFS formula should work well for you.

-Jen

• Craig Beattie
    Craig Beattie ✭✭✭✭

Hi @Jen Lange

Thanks for the reply

I would be adding the totals for all engineers for the given month.

It would then fill Less Holiday Hours sheet Below

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

I would suggest a SUMIFS.

=SUMIFS({Data Sheet Days Taken Column}, {Data Sheet Date Column}, AND(IFERROR(MONTH(@cell), 0) = 5, IFERROR(YEAR(@cell), 0) = 2021)

Now this only accounts for using a single date column (start OR end date). How would you count if someone's holiday overlapped into a different month? Would it be two entries (one for each month), or would it be a single entry?

• Craig Beattie
    Craig Beattie ✭✭✭✭

@Paul Newcome

Hi Paul, now just as i posted this i thought exactly the same. Unsure how i would get around this now to be honest.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭