Formula to show Current Status of Project Approval

Not sure if this would be accomplished easier with a Formula or with a Update Cell Workflow.

We have a Projects Smartsheet that have 4 different Reviewers that need to approve. I'm looking to add another column for Reporting purposes that will show what approval step each project is on.

For example, based off my attached screenshot I'd like to have a formula in a new "Current Status" column return that PTP Name UPS Annual is "Pending Dell FM Review".

I'm a beginner with Smartsheet formulas, but was thinking there is an IF statement I could write to pull this off.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Best Answers

• Julio S.
    Julio S. Moderator
    Answer ✓

Hi @SChristJLL,

You may want to try inserting in your new "Current Status" column:

=IF(COUNTIF([JLL FM Review status]@row:[Dell EHS Review Status]@row, "Approved") = 4, "Approved", IF([JLL FM Review status]@row = "", "Pending JLL Review status", IF([JLL OPs Review Status]@row = "", "Pending JLL OPs Review status", IF([Dell FM Review Status]@row = "", "Pending Dell FM Review Status", IF([Dell EHS Review Status]@row = "", "Pending Dell EHS Review Status")))))

You can then make this into a Column Formula (see this article to learn how). Note that if you'd like to replace empty cells with some text in the line of "Pending", all " " in the formula will need to be replaced accordingly.

You can also find COUNTIF and IF are helpful reference to better understand the functions I used in that specific formula and I would also recommend this article that contains helpful tips to make your formulas more efficient and better prepared to be used in a Column formula. 

If you'd like to see more introductory information about formulas, you may find the Formula Webinar Series and the Create and Edit Formulas article quite useful as well.

I hope this can help.

Cheers,

Julio

• Julio S.
    Julio S. Moderator
    edited 12/01/21 Answer ✓