Timeline Variance indicators

Hi,

I am new to using Smartsheet and was wanted to confirm a few things timelines related:

1. Can Smartsheet create predecessor and successor dependencies (FF, FS, SS, SF) similar to MS Project?
  2. Does Smartsheet allow for WBS elements to be created through indent / outdent similar to MS Project?
  3. Can Smartsheet allow linking to other timeline sheets that have the same titled milestones/activity types and establish automatic variance indicators (red= dates off by 30 days between two sheets/milestones, yellow= dates off by 15 days between two sheets/milestones, green = in sync or dates off by 7 days between two sheets/ same milestones)? So in one main sheet if I have a row called Manufacturing 123 and in another functional sheet I have a row called Manufacturing 123, I can link the two milestones together based on the name/activity type and if the functional sheet date changes then I get the variance indicator(s) on the main sheet displayed in a new column titled Variance? Is this possible to do in Smartsheet? Do I need a specific plug in for this? Any example would be helpful.
  4. Can timeline sheets feed into custom reports/dashboards? Does Smartsheet link to Power BI? What would you recommend as a good dashboard plugin?

Any help would be appreciated on how to get started. Thanks!

Best Answers

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    edited 12/14/21 Answer ✓

Hi @Zain

1) Yes, you can identify predecessor rows and relationships in a Project in Smartsheet. See: Enable Dependencies and Use Predecessors

I would suggest reviewing this free Webinar that goes through Smartsheet's Project settings: SmartStart: Project Management

2) I don't know MS Project well so I can't speak to their functionality, but you can create what's called a Hierarchy in Smartsheet with Parent and Child rows (indented rows). See: Hierarchy: Indent or Outdent Rows. In a Project Sheet, the Parent row has a Parent Rollup Functionality.