Automatic Finish date and Finish time columns for a 3D Printer Sheet

Angelos S.
Angelos S. ✭✭
edited 03/22/22 in Formulas and Functions

Hello everyone,

I am creating a sheet for my 3D Printer and I need some help as I am new in Smartsheet and in using functions.

I want to make the "Finish Date" and "Finish Time" automatic, meaning once I input the Start date, start time and duration, the Finish date and finish time will automatically show when my 3d print will be done.

1) As seen below, I want to put a print on 22 MAR 2022, start at 13:27 and its duration will be 1 day 05 hrs and 23 minutes.

I know that the result should be: Finish Date - 23/03/22 and Finish Time - 18:50.

Is there a function to do that? Start Date and Finish Date are Date columns, and the rest are just Text/Number columns.

It is easier for me to have the times in a "XX:YY" format which is tricky as I can't make the sheet understand what (13:27) means and that if you add 5 hrs and 23 minutes it should change to 18:27 (forgetting the extra day added for this example)

Example if I use "Finish Time = [Start Time]@row + [Duration]@row" function, which obviously does not work as I want:

2) In another attempt of this sheet, I managed to make the start date and finish date work automatically by using an "IF" function that would change the date, if the finish time was more than a day.

• To Explain the sheet, the user has to:
  • Set the date in the "Date" column
  • Input the "Start time" in hours, meaning 10am is 10, 4 pm is 16, 1:30 pm is 13.5 etc, and
  • Input the "Duration" in hours
  • Notes:
    • The "Finish Date" is equal to the "Finish date Calc" column which is explained below.
    • The "Finish date Calc" would be hidden so the calculation and formulas would not confuse the user.

The sheet calculates the Finish time by adding the Start time and Duration:

Finish time Calc = [Start time (in hours)]@row + [Duration (in hours)]@row