Shared sheet to user as Editor, he cannot edit

gabe landes
edited 07/20/22 in Smartsheet Basics

I'm on the Pro plan, small company. I have a project tracking sheet used by people inside my org, all with licenses, all able to edit the sheet. The sheet is shared to fewer than 10 people. I have added a user to the sheet as Editor, he is outside my org, and on a free plan. He cannot edit the sheet. On his home screen, the grey privileges box shows as View Only.

He doesn’t need to add or delete columns. He only needs to add rows of data and enter text into the cells of the sheet. 

I have a ticket with Smartsheet, and I have not gotten an explanation as to why he cannot add data to the sheet.

Please help . Thank you 

Answers

  • Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

    Hi @gabe landes

    I hope you're well and safe!

    Unfortunately, you can't share outside of your organization with edit permissions on the Pro Plan.

    Sheets owned by Pro Plan users can only be edited by licensed users within that account.

    I hope that helps!

    Be safe and have a fantastic week!

    Best,

    Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

    Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

    SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

    Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

    W: www.workbold.com | E: [email protected] | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

    Feel free to contact me about help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or something else entirely.

  • Hi

    I am having same issue/question about this area with a Pro-Plan. A pro-plan user can share the sheet and choose the options - admin/edit when sharing the sheet. It doesn't mean the sheet can be edit unless the users purchase a pro-plan license.

    Jh

  • Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

    Hi @JHO

    Yes, you're correct. Here's the Help Article with more information: Sharing and widgets in the Pro plan

    Cheers,

    Genevieve