If multiple users end up editing the same cell without realizing, the last change that was saved overwrites the other. All editors should be able to view the current cell that is being edited and should be able to lock them as they continue to edit.
It would be very nice to be able to see what cell other users are in. Rather like how google sheets or Excel online sheets will put a border with a little tag on a cell that someone else has selected. Or even seeing just a general row marker that some part of the row is currently selected by another user.
It is truly debilitating to not be able to work with someone in the same sheet at the same time with out it having to refresh and ruin someone else's data. Here at Penske's Talent and Development team, we are a very collaborative group and would love for this feature to be implemented ASAP.
Before all these fancy integrations and whatnot could you please enable auto save and therefore live updates. In today's hybrid working environment those features are a must for efficient workflow. Cheers.
@HarryWatkins Autosave has been an optional feature for a while now and live updates are there once the update has been saved by the updater. This idea is more geared towards visibility of other users such as being able to see when someone else is editing the same cell.
The issue with the autosave though is that it only updates after inactivity as far as I am aware. We’d like it so it’s more like a Google doc or even shared word doc so that it is just constantly updating and saving. Is there the option for this because I haven’t been able to find it.
@HarryWatkins Ah. Ok. I misunderstood your intentions. The only autosave feature is triggered by inactivity. I personally am ok with that because when a sheet is saved, any open cell is "closed" meaning you are no longer editing that cell. If I am mid-formula, that could really mess things up. Or a lot of times I am doing some testing and have a handful of random test columns scattered throughout that I can just use the "undo" button to remove. Once a sheet is saved, I can no longer use that "undo" button.
I do see your use case though and would hope that if something like that was to be implemented, they would make it optional so I can turn it off while building out more complex solutions.
I have lost data many times when multiple people are editing a sheet at the same time. It would be great if we could see what cell other users are in and have instant updates like Google. Alternatively, if we had the ability to lock a sheet so no one else could make edits during the time period it is locked, that is a potential workaround. I find this issue occurs most often when I am going through a project plan in a team meeting. Multiple people are in the sheet and often editing the rows they are responsible for. As a Smartsheet champion, I always cringe when I have to ask people to refrain from making edits so we don't lose anything as that technology is available in other applications. Smartsheet is behind the times here. It's very frustrating to users to lose data.
Hi Community, Welcome to the Product Feedback and Ideas space where you can help shape the future of Smartsheet! We really appreciate your feedback and will take all posts into consideration. Our product team will review top ideas and requests monthly and we'll share updates as soon as we get them. Remember: if you have a…
I would like to have an option to copy the form to be able to edit the copied form without impacting the format of the original document. I recently spent three to four hours to create a form. I needed to duplicate the created form to edit and create a new form with some edits. I was unable to do so.
I have a sheet which is full of formulas pulling data from a number of different sheets in order to graph the data onto a dashboard. I have noticed some issues when looking at the graph on the dashboard recently and have just figured out it is because the sheet requires updating. A few of my formulae reference TODAY(), to…
Currently, a dashboard's components do not belong to the dashboard's owner. If another user adds or edits a widget on a dashboard, that widget does not belong to the dashboard's owner. Instead, it belongs to the person who added the widget. This means that if a dashboard changes ownership, the dashboard will break when the…
©2023. All Rights Reserved Smartsheet Inc.