Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Automate archiving of completed tasks

Troy G. Biv
Troy G. Biv ✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

I've copied a sheet of "Current Tasks" so that I can use the copy to archive my "Completed Tasks," otherwise they just fill up my task sheet.

I notice that there's a feature for linking cells, but I'm trying to figure out if it's possible to have the rows marked as "Completed" automatically copied to the "Completed Tasks" sheet, so I don't have to deal with doing this manually on a regular basis.

I'm pretty new to SmarSheet, so I don't really understand if this is something that can be done, but it seems like any task management solution worth its salt should have a way of archiving completed tasks and getting them out of the view of current tasks.

Comments

• JamesR
    JamesR ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Troy,

Smartsheet does not have any built in automtion, however it will work with other Apps and Zappier may be the one that can do this for you.

Alternativly, create two reports, one showing Completed tasks and one shwing all the rest.  Then work in the second view as it will not show the completed tasks.  This of course depends on what you do in smartsheet as to whether it is a suitable methodology.

• We filter our sheets to only show only uncompleted tasks.  The completed tasks are still there, we just don't need to see them daily.

• Troy G. Biv
    Troy G. Biv ✭✭✭
    edited 10/29/15

Kelly, that's what I'd like to do...How do you do it?

• Kelly Palos
    edited 10/29/15