Percentage of certain cells in a column

Y. Czerski
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Probably it's easier than it looks to me, but I'm very new to Smartsheet and any help is highly appreciated. 

I have a column that contains name of several cities corresponding to complete projects in another column. I'm struggling to put together a formula that will calculate percentage of each city in the whole list. Any help of hint will be useful. Thank you in advance! 

Снимок экрана 2018-01-24 в 8.13.49.png

Comments

• L_123
    L_123 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 01/24/18

You should use a column reference, a count function, and a countif function.

A column reference is Columnname:Columnname

In this case it would be City:City

This references the entire column. So to count the entire city column it would be:

=count(city:city)

In order to get the % you need to divide the city name by the total. So it would be

=countif(city:city,"whichever city you pick")/count(city:city)

• Perfect, works like a charm! Thanks a lot for your help. 

I'm probably asking for too much, but based on that is it possible to filter out some of the cities? If I understood right you can't use filters in formulas. What I'm trying to do is to have percentage statistics by cities but breaking them into three categories e.g. Vancouver, North Vancouver, Other. Where Other includes everything that is not Vancouver or North Vancouver. Taking into account that other cities don't include word "Vancouver" in them I thought to filter it out by that word but can't really figure out how to do it. Sorry I'm very new to Smartsheet and even after going through all possible available documentation can't figure some thing out. Any help is much appreciated. 

• L_123
    L_123 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 01/24/18

Not a problem. What you are talking about is definitely possible, but is a bit more complicated. 

=COUNTIF(City:City, FIND("Vancouver", @cell) > 0)