Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Using Formulas in "Assigned to" collumn?

cbrucelaw
cbrucelaw
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2016 Posts

I'm a newbie here so don't be too harsh!

I am trying to determine if if is possible to set up a dependancy to auto-assign a task to a team member. At my law firm I am creating a few templates that assign certain tasks on each case to one of several paralegals or attorneys.

What I'd like to be able to do is designate in a certain part of the sheet which team member is the paralegal/attorney on a case and then have the sheet auto-assign each paralegal/attorney task to that designated team member.

I can do similar functions when setting up date dependancies, but the sheet does not seem to work with assigning team members to a task, which results in having to go in and manually assign 100+ tasks each time a template is used.

I contacted support, but they suggested using an IF formula without specifics and then suggested posting here.

Has anyone confronted this and came up with any type of work around?  It seems like that the ability to set up dependancies to assign users would be about paramount for those who desire to use templates over and over for repetative tasks.

Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• JohnHinkle
    JohnHinkle ✭✭✭✭✭✭

First, it's not possible to add formulas to Contact List columns. Undecided

As far as creating dependencies for contacts between tasks - how did you want this to work?

For start/end dates and predecessors, a task's date is dependent on the date of another task. I am confused how this would work for contacts. 

Where would it get the correct contact name from? What would trigger the name? How would it know who to assign a task to?