%Complete with dependencies enabled - Running into limitations :(

GeoSmile :-)
GeoSmile :-) ✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Hello all, 

Kudos to you all for such an active and friendly forum!

I am new to Smartsheet and building an organization-wide task tracker for our accreditation and regulatory compliance for health plans.  I have run into a snag on the build with respect to having dependencies enabled and calculating %complete. 

My department level tables that hold each depts. tasks have a met/not met checkbox column.  I added the %Complete column to have the parent task reflect the level of completion of the child task but the issue is rather than have my users type a percentage complete - I want to link the checkbox to a 100% value. With dependencies enabled I am unable to write a formula in the %Complete column to reflect the box being checked or not. I have tried creating a separate %CompleteCalc Column to write and IF statement that references the check box and assigns a value to the dependency protected %Complete column and am getting unparsable error.  Any suggestions on how to approach this? , I like the idea of keeping dependencies vs writing formulas for every parent and dates associated if possible.  

I tried writing a formula that was IF(<check box> =1, <%CompleteCalc> ="100" AND(<%Complete> = "100" >) 

basically trying to get a write to two cells if the checkbox is checked.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or considerations!

Best, 

Geoff

Smartsheet Issue1.PNG

Tags:

Comments

• Hi Geoff,

You're correct in that formulas can't be placed in any column being used for dependencies, including the % complete column.

If you're looking to write a formula in a different column then I'd recommend checking out our article on creating and editing formulas to understand what type of syntax Smartsheet is looking for in a formula: https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/2476171-create-and-edit-formulas-in-smartsheet