Formula comparing 2 dates

MJ_1
MJ_1 ✭✭
edited 02/17/23 in Formulas and Functions

I'm new to Smartsheet and having some issues with a formula comparing 2 dates with or without blanks. I have a start date and a completed date column, where I need to compare the 2 dates to determine the following:

If completed date is greater than the start date the OKR column shows Delayed

If completed date is less than or equal to the start date the OKR column shows On Time

If completed date is blank the OKR column shows blank

If start date is blank the OKR column shows SD missing

I have the following formula to capture the 2 top scenarios which is working for Delayed and On Time, but am a bit lost on how to capture the formula to deal with the blanks.

=IF([ONBOARDING COMPLETION DATE]@row <= [COURSE START DATE (TERM SHEET)]@row, "On Time", IF([ONBOARDING COMPLETION DATE]@row > [COURSE START DATE (TERM SHEET)]@row, "Delayed"))

Any help would be appreciated!

MJ

Best Answers

• Nick Korna
    Nick Korna ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @MJ_1 ,

If I'm understanding you correctly this formula should do what you're after:

=IF(ISBLANK([ONBOARDING COMPLETION DATE]@row), "", IF(ISBLANK([COURSE START DATE (TERM SHEET)]@row), "SD Missing", IF([ONBOARDING COMPLETION DATE]@row <= [COURSE START DATE (TERM SHEET)]@row, "On Time", IF([ONBOARDING COMPLETION DATE]@row > [COURSE START DATE (TERM SHEET)]@row, "Delayed"))))

Example data:

For the fill colour I would use conditional formatting to get the desired result. I'm not aware of any way to do this via cell/column formula.

Hope this helps - if you've any questions etc. then just ask! 😊

• Nick Korna
    Nick Korna ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

@MJ_1,

This should do what you're after: