Stumped on a VLOOKUP formula

Options

I'm very new to Smartsheet and feeling in over my head.

I have a sheet called "FH Course Database." It lists all the courses at my school in a column named "Code Code", e.g. in the screenshot below it's "ACTG F001A"

In that same sheet have a column named, "Formula Test" formatted as a checkbox. (It's the fifth column in the screenshot. The one that says #UNPARSEABLE.)

I want to have Smartsheet search column 3 (named "ZTC") of another sheet called, "ZTC Mapping Survey" and check the box in "Formula Test" if it's there.

No matter how I set it up I either get an UNPARSEABLE error or one of several other errors. At the moment I'm trying "=VLOOKUP({ZTC Mapping Survey}[Code Code]@row, 3, true)" but another I've tried is =VLOOKUP({ZTC Mapping Survey}[Smartsheet Code]@row, 3, true).

I'm stumped. Any help is appreciated!

Carolyn

Answers

• J Tech
    J Tech ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @Carolyn H

Based on your description, it sounds like you want to check the checkbox in the "Formula Test" column in the "FH Course Database" sheet if the value in the "Code Code" column exists in the "ZTC" column of the "ZTC Mapping Survey" sheet.

Here's a formula you can try in the "Formula Test" column:

=IFERROR(VLOOKUP([Code Code]@row, {ZTC Mapping Survey}, 2, FALSE), FALSE)

This formula uses the VLOOKUP function to look up the value in the "Code Code" column of the current row in the "ZTC Mapping Survey" sheet. If a match is found in the "ZTC" column, the formula returns TRUE, which will check the checkbox in the "Formula Test" column. If no match is found, the formula returns FALSE, which will leave the checkbox unchecked.