Ratio-Based Conditional Task Health Indicator

Dom Orsler
Dom Orsler ✭✭
edited 06/12/23 in Formulas and Functions

Hi

I'm a bit embarrassed to ask this, as it seems so simple, yet I've been searching high and low for an answer so am resorting to posting a question. I'm relatively new to SS and find the conditional logic interface a bit clunky and hard to use. In summary, I've created a R/Y/G indicator column and am trying to work out how to apply the following logic;

If % complete is greater than or equal to 75% of the percentage of the duration elapsed, green.

If % complete is between 25% and 75% of the percentage of the duration elapsed, yellow.

If % complete is less than or equal to 25% of the percentage of the duration elapsed, yellow.

I'm trying to compare % complete to what proportion of the duration has elapsed and flag accordingly.

Everything I've managed to find so far bases indicators off of today's date in conjunction with due date and % complete, which is not what I need. I'm trying to base indicators off of ratios rather than absolutes.

Thanks.

Best Answer

• Ryan Sides
    Ryan Sides ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi Dom, how are you looking to calculate the duration elapsed? For instance:

Start Date = 01/01/23

Finish Date = 06/01/23

Today's Date = 05/29/23

Days between Start and Finish = 151

Days between today and start = 148

Which is 97% (148/151) of the total available days.

Correct?

If so, then you can use this formula:

=IF([% Complete]@row >= (0.75 * (TODAY() - Start@row) / (Finish@row - Start@row)), "Green", IF([% Complete]@row > (0.24 * (TODAY() - Start@row) / (Finish@row - Start@row)), "Yellow", "Red"))

Is that what you were looking for?

Ryan Sides

Smartsheet Tips and Tricks for Beginners and Advanced on LinkedIn and YouTube

Come Say Hello!

Answers

• Ryan Sides
    Ryan Sides ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi Dom, how are you looking to calculate the duration elapsed? For instance:

Start Date = 01/01/23

Finish Date = 06/01/23