Sample cURL throwing errors

Options
Michael.Limanni
edited 06/06/23 in API & Developers

Hello All,

I am looking to use cURL for some basic API updates to my sheets. I have used it successfully to pull down data for columns/summary sections, but when I try using the sample cURL to add a field (after updating the cURL for my sheetID and APIkey), it throws errors. Any idea why this might be happening. Wondering also what access I need as I am an admin (business plan) to the sheet and am able to use cURL to pull data. Here is the string I am using:

https://api.smartsheet.com/2.0/sheets/1234567890/columns \-H "Authorization: Bearer MYSMARTAPIKEY"  \-H "Content-Type: application/json" \-X POS

T \-d '[{"index":0,"locked":"false","lockedForUser":"false","title":"PM","type":"TEXT_NUMBER"}]'

{

"errorCode" : 1004,

"message" : "You are not authorized to perform this action.",

"refId" : "s86osu"

}curl: (3) URL using bad/illegal format or missing URL

curl: (3) URL using bad/illegal format or missing URL

curl: (6) Could not resolve host: POST

curl: (3) bad range specification in URL position 3:

'[{index:0,locked:false,lockedForUser:false,title:PM,type:TEXT_NUMBER}]'

^

Answers

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Options

Hi @Michael.Limanni

Just to test in case it's a permission restriction on the sheet, can you try doing the same action manually in the Smartsheet UI?

I would also test updating a different sheet, perhaps one that you own, to see if it's a sheet-specific issue.

The fact that you can read data means that your bearer token is correct, however it sounds like you may only have Editor access to that sheet or that the data you're updating may be a column that is unable to be changed in that way (e.g. a column formula or one that's used with dependencies).

Cheers,

Genevieve

• Michael.Limanni
    Options