Best Practice for connecting sheets

Hi everyone. Can you help me with some ideas on how to best connect sheets when using a basic Smartsheet plan? I have a Master Sheet that houses all properties. But then on various sheets, I'd like to list details. For example, the master sheet would feed information into a sheet that tracks lease information. Another sheet would track tax information and another sheet would track loans.

My initial thought is that when a new line is added to the master sheet, the data can copy over to these various sheets where we can start collecting data.

Does anyone else have other ideas? Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Best Answer

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

"My initial thought is that when a new line is added to the master sheet, the data can copy over to these various sheets where we can start collecting data."

You can set up a copy row automation from the master sheet to the individual sheets.

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

CERTIFIED SMARTSHEET PLATINUM PARTNER

10xViz.com

Answers

• Cory Page
    Cory Page ✭✭✭✭✭

I have a few workspaces that required similar structure layout.

Pending on the masters size I wouldn't place everything in one sheet, it makes it hard to keep organized and usually fills up faster than you would think. Adding in automation to control your base/raw data adds a level of complexity that doesn't really sound like you need. Use Web Forms if the submissions are low, or directly work in the sheets if the data entry is high.