How to deal with efforts

Hey all,

I'm new to Smartsheet. I've got a question around handling of efforts. I feel efforts is being discussed multiple times, but couldn't quite find what I was looking for.

Background: I'm planning the activities, with resources, their allocation and duration of the task. This leads to effort.

1) Is there are way to see the effort per activity?

2) Is there a way to see effort for overall project

3) Is there a way to see the resulting resource plan. Like roles/names on the left, days on top and the hours in each cell? (MS Project has this useful feature)

Thanks for helping.

Best regards,

Thorsten

Best Answer

• Stefan
    Stefan ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 12/18/23 Answer ✓

Hi @ThorstenMinnebusch,

ok, thanks for the background info!

For your use case RM might actually work, as you probably will not go down into the last detailed task in the projectplan. My warning was aiming at people trying to establish resource manangement as a management discipline by simply buying a tool.

RM: RM has its strengths in the management of workforce (like replacing assignments on the go, getting visuals of workload ahead and required expertise) and tracking budget with already prepared functionality.

Smartsheet: Smartsheet can do similar things but some functionality would need to be built by yourself, or some contractor (like adding columns for effort tracking ad counting in hours etc.). The strength of Smartsheet is collaboration and communication about the work to be done. This combined with a great automation engine for all the routine edits and communication can save tons of time.

Our SAP Cutover (i assume you are familiar with that term) customers (large enterprise) prefer to use Smartsheet as single point of truth for communication, updates etc. And they develop the cutover plan together with the project team beforehand so everybody agrees to the content and is well used to the interface.