Copy cell to another sheet if drop down is selected.

Hi,

I'm very new to Smartsheet.

In Sheet A I have columns Project # and Type(dropdown). If Type dropdown value is "New Project" I want the value of Project # to be copied to a new row on Sheet B. I've figured out how to do this within a single sheet using IF, but when I try it using cross sheet references I get an an Unparsable error. What am I missing?

=IF({Estimating Queue Types}@row="New Project",{Estimating Queue Project Num}@row,"")

Best Answer

• KPH
    KPH ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @JayL

I think I understand what you are doing and will try to explain. An IF is not going to generate a list for you. You would need to make a lot of separate IFs. I have a couple of ideas and it might be worth playing with them so you can see what they do.

Idea 1

You could set up a cell link between sheet A and sheet B.

Pros -

1. The data in sheet B will match sheet A and when things change in sheet A, the change will be reflected in sheet B.
    2. This is quick and easy.

Cons -

1. Sheet B will include all rows not just those where the drop down shows "New Project".
    2. Data in sheet A might extend beyond the range that you have linked.

Workaround for con 1 - you can also link the Type column and apply a filter to only show rows where Type is "New Project".

Question -

Will sheet B then look just like sheet A? If so, my response would be to ask if you can do whatever your longer term MATCHing intentions are from sheet A and skip the creation of sheet B.

To see this for yourself

• On sheet B select a range of cells, say 10 rows, in both the Project # and Type columns.
    • Right click.
    • Select Link from Cell in Other Sheet.
    • Select sheet A and choose the same cells. The selection must be the same width and length.

You might stop here. But if not, here is another approach.

Idea 2

You could use an INDEX function to show the data from sheet A in sheet B.

Pros -