Efficient Formula for Sheet References?

Options
JessBushby
edited 04/12/24 in Formulas and Functions

Hi,

Complete novice here so please excuse my crude description of what I'm trying to do! Also if this question is already in the forums somewhere apologies, I'm not entirely sure what the correct terminology is so I do not know what to look for.

I'm looking for a way to pull multiple sheets (training records) into one master sheet to see the overall picture of the data and further manipulate it in this master sheet. For example, % of complete courses per individual, as well number of CPD hours in a given year based on training date. I have a small data set (50 or so training records) and I'm currently using individual formula/references (COUNTIF and SUMSIF) in each row meaning I've already used up the number of references allowed.

With excel, I'm used to using a VLOOKUP and asking it to return data in a particular column, then doing whatever I need with that data once its pulled through but I need to reference multiple columns (CPD hours and the year the CPD was completed in). But feeling totally lost with Smartsheet!

Can someone please guide me?

Thanks,

Jess

Answers

• Andrea_Thompson
    Andrea_Thompson ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi Jess! Have you tried exploring Index Match equations? It works similar to VLookup. And if you are pulling data with more than one criteria, then you would use Index Collect. Try searching for this topic in the community.

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @JessBushby

I hope you're well and safe!

You could use cross-sheet formulas combined with either a VLOOKUP or INDEX/MATCH structure to connect the sheets, and when you update the source sheet, it will reflect on the destination sheet.

Would that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe, and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD