Moving many rows to another sheet?

Options
KenR
KenR
edited 04/17/24 in API & Developers

My task is to move 3500+ rows to an archive sheet every two weeks. I'm using the python SDK Sheets.move_rows() command but am running into a timeout error (4002) after just 250 rows (granted there are a lot of columns). Can anyone recommend a better method than telling python to loop through the list, moving 250 at a time? 3500 / 250 = a lot...

I attempted to use the automation workflow first but it threw an error too (it didn't say which).

The project allows the rows to be added and edited until a supervisor marks the range of rows as complete on Monday afternoon every other week. Once completed all the rows need to be archived.

Python Script: (my apologies to all the professionals - I'm a newbie)

import os, smartsheet

token = '[API TOKEN]'

os.environ['SMARTSHEET_ACCESS_TOKEN'] = token

sheet_id_Intake = '...........0000' # Sheet_ID can be found by going to the Sheet -> Properties -> Sheet ID

sheet_id_Archive = '...........0001'

filter_ReadytoArchive # this is a sheet filter created in smartsheets. I used a postman api call to get the filterID

# Initializes a smartsheets instance

Sheet = smartsheet.Smartsheet()

Sheet.errors_as_exceptions(True)

# gets the list of rows needing to be archived from the intake sheet

archive_rows = Sheet.Sheets.get_sheet(sheet_id_Intake, exclude=["filteredOutRows"], filter_id=Filter_ReadytoArchive)

# creates a python list of the row id's - a maximum of 250 rows

row_list = []

i=0

for row in archive_rows.rows:

if i >= 250: 

break

else:

row_list.append(row.id)

i += 1

# sends request to move rows

try:

response = Sheet.Sheets.move_rows(sheet_id_Intake,smartsheet.models.CopyOrMoveRowDirective({'row_ids': row_list,'to': smartsheet.models.CopyOrMoveRowDestination({'sheet_id': int(sheet_id_Archive )})})) # note I had to convert the Archive sheet id to an integer - for some reason it wouldn't take a string like everywhere else