Bridge - Pull Multiple contacts from one sheet & update one cell with all?

Options

I am trying to use Bridge to pull all the contacts (Supervisors) from a roster grid that match the department defined by my trigger and then put all of these contacts into one single cell on my project tracking grid. So far, I've been able to get the array and then extract the emails I would need but there's a couple issues:

1) There are duplicates in the array that is causing the array to be larger than 20 contacts which the contact field cannot handle more than. Is there a way to remove duplicates and retain the unique/distinct values?

2) I tried to Trim Array before Extract Field From Array but my output from the Extract is now empty. Why is this? I've updated my Array field.

I'm new to Bridge and JSON so any tips are much appreciated. Thanks!

Tags:

Answers

• Samuel Mueller
    Samuel Mueller Overachievers
    Options

The easiest way in my opinion to remove duplicates would be to use the javascript module, and write a short script to do this.

The trim module just removes the bottom however many number or array items you specify, doesn't look at duplicates.

ChatGPT is a great resource for quick javascript code.

also, multiple select contact has to be in a specific json format, so you may run into that as well.

• Samuel Mueller
    Options

@Genevieve P. I've never actually had success with this, do you know if it's even possible to update a multi select contact column with the standard Smartsheet update modules in bridge? I've always had to use an api call to make it work.

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Options

Thanks for the tag, @Samuel Mueller!

I have to admit I'm not sure if it's possible...there was a similar question that I answered without testing 🤔:

• bsanson
    bsanson
    edited 04/18/24
    Options