Index Match or Index Collect ?

Hi yall. I'm not good with the formulas but need them to streamline my employee tracking process. I have a, "Source Sheet" with Employee Name, Class, Dept that need to (match or collect) into another sheet, "Training Log". What formula would I use? I am hung up on the second part of MATCH after you reference the column@row. Thanks!!

Best Answer

• Mark.poole
    Mark.poole ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

there really isn’t a way to pull the name over. You could copy rows or do cell matching. How ever if you want it all automated that won’t work. You could put all the names you want to pull on the list manually and pull everything else. I don’t know how feasible that is with your data. The way an index works is it compares data on your current sheet to data on your reference sheet to pull the information. If name is your main identifier you have to enter it manually.

If you found this comment helpful. Please respond with any of the buttons below. Awesome🖤, Insightful💡, Upvote⬆️, or accepted answer. Not only will this help others searching for the same answer, but help me as well. Thank you.

Answers

• Mark.poole
    Mark.poole ✭✭✭✭✭✭

=index({reference you want to pull},MATCH(column@row,{ref that matches the column@row}),0)

If you found this comment helpful. Please respond with any of the buttons below. Awesome🖤, Insightful💡, Upvote⬆️, or accepted answer. Not only will this help others searching for the same answer, but help me as well. Thank you.

• Nikki B
    Nikki B ✭✭✭

Thanks, Mark. What is the ref that matches the column? This is where I go blank…

=index({reference you want to pull},MATCH(column@row,{ref that matches the column@row}),0)

=index({SourceSheet}, MATCH (Employee Name@row, { can't figure this one out }),0)

• Mark.poole
    Mark.poole ✭✭✭✭✭✭

@Nikki B

In your source sheet. You should have all the employee names. the employee name your wanting should be on the same row as the information you are looking for.