RENEWAL DATE FORMULA

Hello community!

I am an insurance agent and i would like a formula that shows the renewal date of my clients' contracts.

For example, when a contract's duration is 1 year (e.g. date of first contract 31/01/2024) i would like the renewal date to be automatically calculated +1 year (e.g. 31/01/2025).

I have used this formula that works fine for 1 year duration contracts.

=DATE(YEAR([FIRST CONTRACT]@row) + 1; MONTH([FIRST CONTRACT]@row); DAY([FIRST CONTRACT]@row))

a. Is there a way when the date of first contract is for example 31/8/2024 and the duration is 6 months to calculate it correctly (31/2/2025 is obviously a mistake)?

b. Is there a better way to calculate with an 'IF' formula since the duration options are 1, 3, 6 ,12 months (or 30, 90, 180 and 360 days)?

Could you please help me out with this?

Thank u very much!

Best Answers

• Gia Thinh
    Gia Thinh ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 08/23/24 Answer ✓

After a long struggle with the formulas, here is the result 😅. Hope it works for you this time.

It is a long and complicated formula that is combined from some helper columns. I don't think you will understand it.