How to calculate the number of days past due

Hi, I'm new to smartsheets! I'm trying to determine the formula for the following:

The project plan has a due date and and actual date completed, if the due date has past I need to determine the number of days late based on today's date or if the actual date completed is past the due date.

Best Answer

Answers

• Stefan
    Stefan ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Christine, the perfect use case for the networkdays formula, as it calculates the net working days between two dates.

Hope this helps

Stefan

Smartsheet Consulting, Solution Building, Training and Support.

Projects for Processes and for People.

• Thanks, however I'm unable to determine the number of days late based on today's date or if the actual date completed is past the due date.

• Stefan
    Stefan ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Christine,

I assume the column "actual date completed" remains empty until work is 100% completed. I also assume you have column "delay in days". And last, I assume all date columns are of the type DATE.

So the logic is:

Check if "actual date completed" is empty. -> Then check if "due date" is older than TODAY. -> If yes calculate due date versus TODAY / If no, calculate due date versus "actual date completed".

First you need a cell in the sheet, where you can place the TODAY function. You can use an extra column (like my example below), or you can place it in one of the other date columns e.g. in the first row.

Start easy by placing the ISBLANK formula only in the column "delay in days".

=IF(ISBLANK([actual date completed]@row), "empty", "not empty")

Now replace "empty" with the formula to check if due date is in the past.

IF([due date]@row < $today$1, "dd passed", "dd ahead")

=IF(ISBLANK([actual date completed]@row), IF([due date]@row < $today$1, "dd passed", "dd ahead"), "not empty")

Now "dd ahead" means no need to count so you replace it with "".

=IF(ISBLANK([actual date completed]@row), IF([due date]@row < $today$1, "dd passed", ""), "not empty")