Alert if a specific date is entered N times.

I am creating a "Covid Check-in' form for my office, where employees will use a form to check in with the date they are checking in.

I would like to send an alert to the office manager if more than a set number of entries are made for any specific date. I.E. if more than 10 people check in on 09/01/20 then an alert can be sent to the office manager's email.

i'm pretty new with Smartsheet, but familiar with coding and databases, so I was wondering if there is a built-in way to do this?

Answers

• Ramzi K
    Ramzi K ✭✭✭✭✭

Use a cell to count the number of alerts using COUNTIF function. Then use a workflow to send out the email.

Ramzi Khuri - Principal Consultant @ Cedar Tree Consulting (www.cedartreeconsulting.com)

Feel free to email me: ramzi@cedartreeconsulting.com

💡 If this post helped you out, please help the Community by marking it as the accepted answer/helpful.

• Could anyone provide more tips on this - on how to do what Ramzi described?

• Hello @Rosie Hallett

I was able to create a solution that may work. To do this, you will want to add a "Helper" column, I used a checkbox, and used the following formula: =IF(COUNTIF([Check-In]:[Check-In], >=[Check-In]@row) > 10, 1, 0)

This checks that if the date on the row shows more than 10 times within a Date column, it will check the checkbox. Please see my example below where I demonstrate 10 of the same Dates vs 9 of the same Dates.

10 Dates:

9 Dates:

As you can see, when there are 10 entries of 19/09/20, it will flag the Checkbox. From here, you could create an Alert that will send when a Checkbox has been checked. With this, here are a few things to note when doing this:

Let me know if you have any questions!

Regards

Sean

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭