Project Mgmt Changing Start Date

Hello, I am trying to create a project management sheet and have a question. I am new to project management as well. The sheet has a start date, end date, duration, and predecessors. If i go to change the start date to an earlier date, I get the following message: Manually changing "Start Date" will result in the removal of all predecessor relationships on the row. I am not sure why it does this?

The sheet has a start and end date, should they date be replaced with actual start and end dates? I am not sure is this is the correct way. I was also wondering does anyone use (add) estimated or actual start and end dates along with the start and end date on the sheet?

I appreciate any help!

Best Answer

• Hannah H
    Hannah H ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @Bob Acerrano,

Welcome to Project Management!

You will need to use the predecessors and the duration to adjust any dates that are not your very first start date.

I like to have a row called Project Approved for Initiation where I enter my start date.

Use the predecessors to assign which tasks should follow. Here you can add a lag (positive number of days) or a lead (negative number of days).

Use duration to set how many days a task should last (this will look at the start date and and determine the end date).

Yes, you can use your start and end dates and set up separate columns to track the actual date that work is complete. Here you will want to create a Record a Date workflow using the Automation menu.

Your sheet might look something like this:

You should consider taking some of Smartsheet's training tracks to set you up for success: https://help.smartsheet.com/learning-track/get-started

Best wishes,

Hannah

Answers

• Hannah H
    Hannah H ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hi @Bob Acerrano,

Welcome to Project Management!

You will need to use the predecessors and the duration to adjust any dates that are not your very first start date.