COUNTIF formula for a date range

Options

Hi, I am brand new to SmartSheets and trying to pull some high level metrics from a sheet into the Summary section. I have never used complex formulas before in Excel or SmartSheets and am trying to find the most basic answer around how to build a COUNTIF formula to show how monthly numbers for my team. My sheet has 3 different date columns and I want a count based on one of the columns, for everything that happens within a month. I know that everything I want to do is possible with SmartSheet, but am struggling to put it into action.

I've been watching videos on YouTube, LinkedIn Learning, and searching the community but I am looking for the most basic How To of writing a formula in SmartSheet using COUNTIFs. If I get this figured out, I'll try for building dashboards with the metrics, but am definitely not that advanced yet :)

Answers

• Heather Duff
    Heather Duff ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi Katelyn,

Are you able to share a screenshot of your sheet, with any sensitive information blocked? Also, please describe a bit more of what you're looking for - do you want a rolling total for items in the current month, the past 30 days, or do you want totals for each month? Having this extra information will help figure out what formula you need.

Best,

Heather

• Katelyn Buress
    Options

Hi Heather, in my Smartsheet, I have a column that includes a check box to mark is something is tracking towards my team's EOY metrics. I also have a column with that includes the date something occurred. I am trying to create a Summary on the Smartsheet that shows the Count of line items that include a check box and have occurred within the specific calendar month.

I feel like this should be a pretty simple formula, but I just do not know the in's and out's of how to even build a Smartsheet formula since I am new at this.

• Heather Duff
    Heather Duff ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Katelyn,