Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Consolidate time sheets

Hugh McKinney
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2017 Posts

Hi relative newbie here... looking for help. I would like to set up time sheets for individual team members is a design studio. They will list jobs worked on by job number to allocate time worked on daily. I would then like to consolidate all the data into one master sheet and run a SUM IF formula to calculate the total amount of time spent on each job and allocate the time calculated to each job number. I need help in finding a way to consolidate each time sheet into a master sheet to run the SUM IF formula. Hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance

Comments

• You could go to their sheet, select the rows, and choose Move to Another sheet, but it still feels very manual.

What about you make your master sheet where it contains a drop down field where you list each job, the hours worked, by whom the work was done, the date, or whatever else you need.  Next, you create a web form by clicking on the the Web Forms tab at the bottom, and choosing create new form. Save the web form and preview it so you can see what this will do. Copy the link and send it to your team members. When they do work, they can log the time they do using the web form. It will automatically be added to your master sheet. You can do your calculations there, and you don't need individual sheets. If you want, you can create a report that filters it down to individual team members to see what their timesheet would be.

For added convenience, you could copy the web form and make a version for each team member, where their name and favorite project is set as defaults for those in the web form.