Using a hyperlinked cell in a formula

I have a master sheet that pulls data from many other sheets. Each row feeds from another sheet and there is a column that specifically contains the hyperlink to the sheet that row is referencing. Is there a way to write a formula for an entire column to use the hyperlink to pull data from the other sheets? Example below. The "BU" is located in the same place on all of the individual sheets so the formula seems like it should work. I am currently going line by line and "linking cell to a cell in another sheet". I would just like to save some time by writing a column formula so as we add Project Plan rows, it auto feeds. Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Answers

• Jaykel Torres
    Jaykel Torres Employee
    edited 04/11/21

Hey @Chad Kirkpatrick,

Great question! By using the VLOOKUP Function and Cross Sheet Referencing, you can pull in a hyperlink from another Sheet. Assuming that your "BU" Column is unique, you may use this as your "search_value" within your VLOOKUP Formula and return the corresponding hyperlink.

In reviewing the image provided, I did notice that you have hyperlinked text values; any Cell Reference or Cross Sheet Reference will return hyperlinked text as text values only. In order for it to return a hyperlink, this will need to be the website URL (for example, use "https://smartsheet.com" instead of "Smartsheet")

I hope this helps!

Jaykel

• Jaykel,