Formula/Function for drop-down menu items

Ok, so here is the scenario.

I am trying if at all possible to calculate a total for some drop-down menu prices and produce a total for the items that are selected in the right-hand "Total" column.

I'm new to Smartsheet and going in circles trying to find a solution if there is one.

Here is a screenshot:

Thank you in advance for any info.

Answers

• Bassam Khalil
    Bassam Khalil ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @Craig Rushworth

Hope you are fine, i advise you to design your application in a different method because it's too complicated to calculate the sum of the prices from a text in multi dropdown menu selection.

you can use instead of that a separate sheet contains 2 columns one for the product and the other for the prices and collect the prices to your main sheet by using functions like Index & Vlookup.

if you like i can help you to design your application appropriately please call me:

My Email: Bassam.k@mobilproject.it

PMP Certified

bassam.khalil2009@gmail.com

☑️ Are you satisfied with my answer to your question? Please help the Community by marking it as an ( Accepted Answer), and I will be grateful for your "Vote Up" or "Insightful"

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @Craig Rushworth

I hope you're well and safe!

Interesting.

I think it would be possible to structure a solution, but maybe it would be better to have a separated pricelist that matches the selections.

Would that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Be safe and have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35