IF Statement result brings back another cell value

Good morning everyone!

I am fairly new to Smartsheet so please spare my dumb question but I really need the help of the experts solving a formula logic:

Scenario:

I have a list of Events, Attendees and a column with a IF = Month(Today()) formula based on the event date to know what Events took place in the current Month.

Desired result:

On a Dashboard, use 2 Metric widgets to display which Event in the Current Month had the most Attendees and which Event in the Current Month had the less Attendees.

Can you please help me build the logic and functions for both cases?

I tried something like

IF(AND({Current Month? Range} = "Yes", {Number of Attendees Range} = MAX(()),

And this is where I am having problems telling the formula to give me the value of the Event Name column.

Please excuse me if I am not using the correct statements.

JS

Best Answers

• John Pudar
    John Pudar ✭✭✭✭
    Answer βœ“

Hi @Jorge Silva,

Not a "dumb" question at all! There may be a simpler way to get the same result, but I think this might work for you for the highest attended event:

=INDEX([Event Name]:[Event Name], MATCH(MAX(COLLECT([Number Of Event Attendees]:[Number Of Event Attendees], [Current Month]:[Current Month], ="Yes")), [Number Of Event Attendees]:[Number Of Event Attendees], 0))

And for the lowest attended event, try:

=INDEX([Event Name]:[Event Name], MATCH(MIN(COLLECT([Number Of Event Attendees]:[Number Of Event Attendees], [Current Month]:[Current Month], ="Yes")), [Number Of Event Attendees]:[Number Of Event Attendees], 0))

• Bassam Khalil
    Bassam Khalil ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 06/24/21 Answer βœ“

@Jorge Silva

Please try the following formula for ( Number of Event Attendees )