Merging Single & Multi Select Columns with Free Text into one Merged Column

JGray
JGray ✭✭
edited 07/30/21 in Formulas and Functions

I am in the midst of creating a giant SmartSheet for exporting to CSV for a client of mine. I am inputting keywords and metadata in single & multi-select columns, along with any miscellaneous keywords that I can create in another column.

I would like to merge all of these columns together into one separate column that has comma delimiters in them. I am new to creating functions, but I thought that a JOIN or = with a SUBSTITUTE thrown in there for adding commas would work, but so far I keep getting INVALID OPERATION whenever I try to merge them all together.

I could really use some help here, so any and all help is appreciated.

Answers

• Brett Wyrick
    Brett Wyrick ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 07/29/21

Hey JGray,

Just so you know, each Smartsheet cell has a limit of 4,000 characters. If this process is going to have cells with more than 4,000 characters, it'll fail. Figured I should bring that up first.

It'd be great if you could provide a link to a copy of your sheet (it's a little hard to wrap my brain around). But I'll try and get an answer to you based on what you've written.

First of all, what you're trying to do here is equivalent to "CONCATENATE" in Excel. Here's a link to a Smartsheet article that shows how to concatenate:

Multi-select columns and getting text values from them

When you try and take text from a Multi-select column via a formula, it appears like it just uses a space (" ") between the selections. Smartsheet actually uses a "line break" (aka "soft return") to differentiate between values for a multi-select column.

Let's say you have a column named "Colors" that's a multi-select column. For an example, I've created two extra columns to show how this works. ("T/N" = "Text/Number")

1. The first column is where the selections were made.