Help counting cross-sheet formulas, references, cells

I have a master sheet with 1,400+ rows (and growing each day).

I have a summary sheet where I cross reference entire columns from the master sheet. In the summary sheet, I have a formula with multiple conditions that references 5 different columns from the master sheet (aka I have 5 different cross-reference ranges). But this formula is repeated 50+ times on the summary sheet (just includes different conditions).

I receive the below error all the time and my formula cells won't update any more. I have talked to SS support but I'm still having issues figuring out the source of the problem. What does it mean that I'm referencing more cells than max allowed (100,000)? Is it counting the 5 columns times the 1,400 rows, times the 50 times used??

I thought a cross-reference can be used many times and it counts as one so I definitely didn't exceed the cross-reference limit, I only have 5 references total. But this is talking about cells which is so confusing... Any help appreciated. I have been trying to re-work my summary sheet in a million different ways but I just can't get around this error and I don't know what the root cause

is!

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

I believe we may be discussing this on another thread?

It should only be counting the 5 columns times the 1,400 rows once regardless of how many times the reference(s) are used within your sheet.

Do you have cross sheet references coming in from other sheets? You can right click on any cell within the sheet (where you are using the cross sheet references) and select "Manage References" to get a comprehensive list of all cross sheet references and cell links.

The Source column will tell you where the reference is coming from. If you hover over one of the rows, three vertical dots will appear to the right. Clicking on that will give you the option to edit, duplicate, or delete the reference.