How to pull data from one sheet to another easily

Xillin
Xillin ✭✭
edited 10/12/21 in Formulas and Functions

Hi everyone, I manage smartsheet for my company even though I have nothing even resembling training in spreadsheet manipulation, formulas, etc. So I'm just learning on the fly. We have one sheet that has all of the projects we are currently working on, listed by project number and then a bunch of data specific to the project, each project only taking up one row. We have a few other sheets that reference those same projects from the first sheet, but for different purposes. What I'd really love to do, is set it up so that when I punch in the project number in one of those secondary sheets, it scans the first sheet for that number and auto inputs several relevant data points so we don't have to manually do it for every project. Is this possible? If so, can someone explain to me how?

Best Answer

• Antonio Figueroa
    Antonio Figueroa ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

I believe so. Try this

Create a new sheet. write a job# in the first column first cell and in the second column first cell use the below formula

=vlookup(Search_Value,Lookup_Table, column_Num, Match Type)

First type in the =vlookup(

Next we have to input the Search_Value. The search value will be the job# on the sheet you are on now. click in the first cell in the first column then type a comma.

Next we have to get the lookup_table

for this you will have to reference another sheet.

After you click the reference another sheet it will open a folder. Search for the Sheet you wish to pull the information from. Next you will have to click on the column with the job number in it and hold down the shift Key. While holding down the shift Key click on the column that has the data you wish to retrieve.

Now you can let the shift key go. But before you click insert you have to count the number of total columns that start at the Job# to the data. You will need this in the next step. Click insert.