How to pull the next due date from a list of up coming dates from a different sheet

I am fairly new to Smartsheet and still getting a feel for the landscape. I have two sheets, one is my main sheet where I want the dates to be pulled into, the second sheet is where I have my upcoming due dates. Essentially what I am trying to do is add a formula on my main sheet in the "Next Action Item" Column, where it will look at the current year "Year of Project" and pull the in the next due date from the list of dates in the second sheet when.

The current formula I am trying to use in the "Next Action Item Date" column starts with first identifying the "Year of Project" column, and then thinking a MIN(COLLECT would be the next logical formula, but running into issues:

=IF([Year of Project]@row = "1st year", MIN(COLLECT({Example}@row:{Example}@row, {Example}@row:{Example}@row, @cell > TODAY()))

The goal is when 1st year is selected it will look at sheet 2 and pull from the 1st year dates the next upcoming date when it is within 5 days. When 2nd year is selected it will look at the column of sates for that specific year.

The formula is referencing sheet 2

Sheet 1 (Main)

Sheet 2 (Data sheet)

Best Answer

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hey John

It looks like I forgot to close the MIN function. Try adding a closing parenthesis before the 2nd year IF statement. You'll have to remove a parenthesis from the very end as well

Answers

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hey @JBerm