Pulling in data from another sheet

I have a master file in smartsheet that was imported from an excel file. A column of data was deleted and I need to get that data back in the smartsheet file from the main excel file.

I would like to:

• look at column 1 in the smartsheet file and look for a match in column 1 of the excel file
  • if there is a match, then I would like to return the contents at that row in column 2 of the excel file and populate column 2 at the row with that data

Thank you for your help!

Brad

Best Answer

Answers

• Kevin Smith
    Kevin Smith ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Have there been new rows added to either the SS or XL files? Also, is there a 1:1 or other relationship with the rows or Col 1? There could be a few ways to handle but I would likely start by taking Col 1 from SS and Col 1 and Col 2 from XL and getting them all in one sheet to see if I could get the two XL cols. to match up with the Col 1 from SS. Once I had that, it might be easy to just put the Col 2 back into the original SS.

Thank you,

Kevin

Happy to help if I can.

☑️ Are you satisfied with my answer to your question? Please help the Community by marking it as an ( Accepted Answer)

• bentlb3
    bentlb3 ✭✭✭✭
    edited 04/25/22

Hi Kevin. Yes, there has been modification to the SS file, so that's why I'll need to do a lookup of some sort in order to pull in the right data confidently. I was thinking that I can use a formula like this (originally provided by @Debbie Sawyer): =COUNTIFS([Column1]:[Column1], ISDATE(@cell), [Column2]:[Column2], NOT(@cell = "Yes"))

This worked great to populate a SS field with "Yes". But for this, I need to:

• have SS column 1 (ID field) look at XL olumn 1 (ID field) for a match
    • if it matches, then I need SS column 2 to pull in the contents of XL column 2

Thanks!

Brad

• Kevin Smith
    Kevin Smith ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Is there any chance that it would not be 1:1 so that if I have Col1 match more than one row on the XL file?

Thank you,

Kevin