How do I verify if text in one column has a match in the text of another column?

Options

I have two very lengthy columns of names on one sheet. How can I determine which names appear on both columns and which solely appear on the left (longer) column? I really need to know where there are matches and where there aren't. I know this might be simplistic, but I'm fairly new to Smartsheet. Thanks for any help.

Best Answer

• Mike TV
    Mike TV ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@A.J.

It's actually working. You just have your formula backwards from what your expectations are.

The formula you're using does the following. It checks the box if the name in the Responded column that is in the same row as the check box is found anywhere in the Invite List column. So in Row 7 the name in the Responded column is Azeem Ahmad so Row 7 has the box checked because Azeem Ahmad name is in Row 6 of the Invite List column.

Maybe you need to switch up your formula to be the following if your expectation is that the box should be checked if the name to the left of the check box is found anywhere in the Responded column. Like so:

=IF(HAS(Responded:Responded, [Invite List]@row), true, false)

Answers

• Mike TV
    Mike TV ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

@A.J.

Here's one way to do it.

Name in both columns formula:

=IF(HAS([Name Column B]:[Name Column B], [Name Column A]@row), true, false)

For the way this formula is written, you'd make the "Name in both columns" column a checkbox column. What the formula does is to check the box if the name in Name Column A to the left of it's box (in it's row) exists anywhere in the Name Column B column.

Another way you could do it is like this:

Name Verify formula:

=IF(HAS([Name Column B]:[Name Column B], [Name Column A]@row), "The name " + [Name Column A]@row + " exists in both columns", "The name " + [Name Column A]@row + " exists only in Name Column A")

I'd go with the first way of doing it though.

• Mike TV
    Mike TV ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

@A.J.